All Sections

The sculptures of Steph Cop, an artistic walk in the spaces of the Hotel Martinez Cannes

Hatchikian Gallery presents major works by Steph Cop at the Hotel Martinez Cannes. Steph Cop has collaborated on several occasions with the Michelin-starred chef of the Martinez Cannes hotel Christian Sinicropi, who finds gastronomic inspiration in contemporary art.

The works of Steph Cop exhibited at the Hotel Martinez Cannes.

In this summer 2021 a bit special in Cannes since the 74th international film festival takes place in the summer season from July 6 to 17, we will be able to discover some emblematic works of Steph Cop exhibited by Hatchikian Gallery in the spaces of the iconic palace of the Croisette. The bronze Black Raw 220cm whose reflections evoke the lines of the tree and its life trajectory has found its place in the garden of lemon and olive trees, a true haven of peace where it is good to sit down for a drink, a musical dinner or even a breakfast in a Provencal village atmosphere. Made in 2019, the bronze Black Raw is the reproduction of an ash sculpture named Ashraw which is part of the figures  which tell the soul of fallen trees of which the artist makes his material. These formal figures are an instrospective exploration of a relationship between Man and the tree, an essential question for Steph Cop whose work originates from an immersion in the tree ecosystem in the Morvan forest. 

An artistic walk in the spaces of the Martinez. 

The Martinez, jewel of the Unbound x Hyatt collection, recently renovated by the architectural firm Pierre-Yves Rochon in a yachting style reviving the sweetness of the art of living on the Riviera, offers a privileged setting to contemplate the works of Steph Cop. Strolling through the spaces of the hotel bathed in soft light, after having met Black Raw, we will be able to discover the sculpture Robur whose silhouette, both abrupt and thin, symbolizes the strength of the tree and its faults of life, Columnae whose deliberately interrupted shape testifies to the unfinished destiny of the tree, Copelini, a clean figure carrying the vertical tension of the shaft and the Cube, bronze which represents the soul and existential center of gravity of the tree in Steph Cop's ARO movement. Through these five major works of the artist, we experience the creative sequence of the ARO movement, central in the work, a sequence marked by a dynamic of elevation of the line, of tensioning, lightening, asymmetry, towards the then possible advent of a new gravity which will consecrate the completion and, finally, the return to the Cube from which the series began. ARO is a research devoted by the slenderness of the form. This refined verticality is, for the artist, the axis of the vital impetus: staying upright. “I observe the flow of life, the rise to the sky from the roots of those who hold us, but also the restorative rain that flows along the branches until it infiltrates the earth to nourish it. Verticality is the secret of the history of the tree. My first gesture is vertical: lift the tree that has fallen to the ground. The standing tree appeals to me for humility. I first tame the precious and unique material by going to look for the volumes, which I carefully deconstruct, with difficulty. I subtract the perpendiculars to draw the horizontals and obliques. Each cut is a specter of passing time ”.

It is an artistic walk to discover this ARO movement that is offered by Hatchikian Gallery through this exhibition, like an enchanted parenthesis, like these exceptional meetings offered by the Martinez to promote the Croisette. radiant elegance.  

The Palme d'Or of chef Sinicropi welcomes the work of Steph Cop as an inspiring source. 

Robur and Le Cube are exhibited in the salons of the Palme d'Or, a gourmet restaurant with two Michelin macaroons where chef Sinicropi imagines plates in the style of a pictorial composition, like a painter of flavors. The culinary creations are presented as ephemeral works to be tasted on collections of plates made especially in duo with his ceramicist wife Catherine Sinicropi. 

Both instinctive and cerebral, its original cuisine, inspired by the product's memorial history, offers a multisensory experience: flavors and taste notes are associated like an olfactory construction, unfolding like a musical score; the chromatic dressings and the relief of the textures create new tasting nuances. 

Steph Cop and Christian Sinicropi have forged links between their two worlds. “I have already had the opportunity to work with Steph Cop who created plates for the Palme d'Or. His unique universe inspires me. My approach to cooking resonates with his sensitivity to the plant cycle, his way of sculpting trees to prolong their soul and destiny. My kitchen tells the whole story of the product in its ecosystem. Our creations have common sources ”, explains the chef, who has designed, for the reopening of the Palme d'Or after months of restaurant closings, a vegetal proposal that transcribes the woody universe of Steph Cop into flavors. Steph Cop's artistic approach and the gastronomic one of Christian Sinicropi have a definite resonance in the environmental issues that today run through our lifestyles. Art and gastronomy awaken our senses and resolutely participate in the challenges that can mobilize us and bring us together. 

The vegetal movement menu inspired by the woody world of Steph Cop. 

The vegetal menu offered at La Palme d'Or is a story between an artist, Steph Cop, a ceramist, Catherine Sinicropi, and an original cuisine

The first movement is a creation around the artichoke: "The blue-purple color of its flower inspired me with the following notes: Acidulated, sweet, cork oak wood, violet", indicates the chef. The woody note of an oak dear to Steph Cop structures the architecture of the flavors. 

The second movement is a gourmet concentrate focused on the perception of a seasonal vegetable, the bean, with a note of lichen moss. So many elements of the tree ecosystem that can be found through the pages of the book by Steph Cop and the photographer Balint Põrneczi which retraces the wanderings in the forest, a dreamlike source of inspiration, the workshop in Morvan , the creative gesture, until the search for the soul of the sculpted tree represented in the 9 ARO shapes. A work in which the photographs, the writings, and the traces of a history inscribed in the material give a glimpse of the inseparable between the artist, his place, and the work. 

The third movement is a work around the zucchini in yellow and green nuances, which the chef describes as "a taste of the Riviera with notes of smoky wood and pollen musk".

The fourth movement puts the spotlight on Gourdon honey, a scent of thyme and a note of olive oil, like a sensation of freshness in the shade of the Riviera. It was composed by the talented pastry chef recognized by the Michelin guide Julien Ochando. 

The Martinez at the heart of the events of the Cannes Film Festival

Each year, on the evening before the opening of the Cannes International Film Festival, the most publicized cultural event in the world, the jury's welcome dinner is held at La Palme d'Or. Chef Sinicropi worked for many months on the preparation of this exceptional dinner by creating, with his wife Catherine, ceramic plates inspired by the filmography and the universe of the President of the Jury. Each dish on the menu is thus served in a unique work. The Martinez welcomes the biggest stars during this effervescent fortnight and its history is marked by moments of anthology. An exceptional majestic suite has just been inaugurated on the top floor of the hotel, with an interior designed by Pierre-Yves Rochon, architect who signed the various renovations of the Martinez. One of the most beautiful suites in Europe, with a breathtaking panorama of the Croisette from the terrace. A suite that is part of the legend of cinema, decorated in the spirit of the meeting between an actress and a director, personalized by Isabelle Huppert and Thierry Frémaux, general delegate of the Festival. 

Discover, during the fortnight of the Cannes Film Festival and during this summer season, the works of Steph Cop at the Martinez as well as the creative affinities between the artist and the chef, between art and gastronomy: "Nature summons all our senses . We contemplate it, touch it, listen to it, breathe it, taste it. Also, we wanted to explore this sensory amplitude in an artistic gastronomic experience inspired by the tree in its ecosystem. We hope to transmit this creative fullness to our guests by inscribing our approach in the life cycle. Our humility in front of nature is not a posture, it is the source of our artistic research. This is what we want to share, in this iconic place that is the Martinez ”.

Discover the works of the artist Steph Cop in our collections and different approaches to his work in our previous Art Papers. 

Add Your Comment

Advice / Services

We support you in all stages of your acquisition: choice of the work, financing, supervision.

FAST DELIVERY

We deliver to you worldwide at the best prices thanks to our specialized transport network.

protection / AUTHENTICITY

We guarantee you optimal security in your payments by credit card, bank transfer and check. All our original works are accompanied by a certificate of authenticity from the artist.
   
Book an appointment
Open chat
Need help?
Hello, how can we help you?

Tous les articles

Les sculptures de Steph Cop, une promenade artistique dans les espaces de l’hôtel Martinez Cannes

Hatchikian Gallery présente des œuvres majeures de Steph Cop à l’hôtel Martinez Cannes. Steph Cop a collaboré à plusieurs reprises avec le chef étoilé de l’hôtel Martinez Cannes Christian Sinicropi, qui trouve l’inspiration gastronomique dans l’art contemporain.

Les œuvres de Steph Cop exposées à l'hôtel Martinez Cannes.

En cet été 2021 un peu particulier à Cannes puisque le 74eme festival international du film se déroule en pleine saison estivale du 6 au 17 juillet, on pourra découvrir quelques œuvres emblématiques de Steph Cop exposées par Hatchikian Gallery dans les espaces de l’iconique palace de la Croisette. Le bronze Black Raw de 220cm dont les reflets évoquent les lignes de l’arbre et sa trajectoire de vie a trouvé sa place dans le jardin de citronniers et d’oliviers, véritable havre de paix où il fait bon s’attabler pour un verre, un dîner musical ou même un petit-déjeuner dans une atmosphère de village provençal. Réalisé en 2019, le bronze Black Raw est la reproduction d’une sculpture en frêne nommée Ashraw qui fait partie des figures  qui racontent l’âme des arbres tombés à terre dont l’artiste fait sa matière. Ces figures formelles sont une exploration instrospective d’un rapport de l’Homme à l’arbre, une question essentielle pour Steph Cop dont l’œuvre s’origine d’une immersion dans l’écosystème de l’arbre en forêt du Morvan. 

Une promenade artistique dans les espaces du Martinez. 

Le Martinez, joyau de la collection Unbound x Hyatt, récemment rénové par le cabinet d’architectes Pierre-Yves Rochon dans un style yachting renouant avec la douceur de l’art de vivre sur la Riviera, offre un cadre privilégié pour contempler les œuvres de Steph Cop. En déambulant dans les espaces de l’hôtel baignés d’une douce lumière, après avoir rencontré Black Raw, on pourra découvrir la sculpture Robur dont la silhouette à la fois abrupte et fine symbolise la force de l’arbre et ses failles de vie, Columnae dont la forme délibérément interrompue témoigne du destin inachevé de l’arbre, Copelini, une figure épurée portant la tension verticale de l’arbre et le Cube, bronze qui représente l’âme et le centre de gravité existentiel de l’arbre dans le mouvement ARO de Steph Cop. A travers ces cinq œuvres majeures de l’artiste, on éprouve la séquence créatrice du mouvement ARO, central dans l’œuvre, séquence marquée par une dynamique d’élévation de la ligne, de mise en tension, d’allégement, de dissymétrie, vers l’avènement alors possible d’une nouvelle gravité qui consacrera l’achèvement et, finalement, le retour au Cube d’où s’est initiée la série. ARO est une recherche consacrée par l’élancement de la forme. Cette verticalité épurée est, pour l’artiste, l’axe de l’élan vital : rester debout. « J’observe les flux du vivant, l’élévation vers le ciel depuis les racines de ceux qui nous tiennent mais aussi la pluie réparatrice qui coule le long des branches jusqu’à s’infiltrer dans la terre pour la nourrir. La verticalité est le secret de l’histoire de l’arbre. Mon premier geste pose une verticale : relever l’arbre tombé à terre. L’arbre debout m’adresse un appel à l’humilité. J’apprivoise d’abord la matière précieuse et unique en allant chercher les volumes, que je déconstruis avec précaution, avec difficulté. Je soustrais les perpendiculaires pour tracer les horizontales et les obliques. Chaque coupe est un spectre du temps qui passe ».

C’est une promenade artistique à la découverte de ce mouvement ARO qui est proposée par Hatchikian Gallery à travers cette exposition, comme une parenthèse enchantée, à l’image de ces rendez-vous d’exception proposés par le Martinez pour faire rayonner la Croisette d’une radieuse élégance.  

La Palme d'Or du chef Sinicropi accueille l'œuvre de Steph Cop comme source inspirante. 

Robur et Le Cube sont exposés dans les salons de la Palme d’Or, restaurant gastronomique aux deux macarons Michelin où le chef Sinicropi imagine des assiettes à la manière d’une composition picturale, comme un peintre des saveurs. Les créations culinaires sont présentées comme des œuvres éphémères à déguster sur des collections d’assiettes réalisées spécialement en duo avec son épouse céramiste Catherine Sinicropi. 

À la fois instinctive et cérébrale, sa cuisine originelle, inspirée de l’histoire mémorielle du produit, offre une expérience multisensorielle : les saveurs et les notes gustatives sont associées comme une construction olfactive, se déroulent comme une partition de musique ; les dressages chromatiques et le relief des textures créent des nuances de dégustation inédites. 

Steph Cop et Christian Sinicropi ont tissé des liens entre leurs deux univers. « J’ai déjà eu l’occasion de travailler avec Steph Cop qui a crée des assiettes pour la Palme d’Or. Son univers singulier m’inspire. Mon approche de la cuisine est en résonance avec sa sensibilité au cycle végétal, sa manière de sculpter des arbres pour en prolonger l’âme et le destin. Ma cuisine raconte toute l’histoire du produit dans son écosystème. Nos créations ont des sources communes », explique le chef, qui a conçu, pour la réouverture de la Palme d’Or après des mois de fermeture des restaurants, une proposition végétale qui transcrit en saveurs l’univers boisé de Steph Cop. La démarche artistique de Steph Cop et celle, gastronomique, de Christian Sinicropi, rencontrent une résonance certaine dans les enjeux environnementaux qui parcourent aujourd’hui nos modes de vie. L’art et la gastronomie éveillent nos sens et participent résolument des défis qui peuvent nous mobiliser et nous rassembler. 

Le menu mouvement végétal inspiré par l'univers boisé de Steph Cop. 

Le menu végétal proposé à La Palme d’Or est une histoire entre un artiste, Steph Cop, une céramiste, Catherine Sinicropi, et une cuisine originelle

Le premier mouvement est une création autour de l’artichaut : « La couleur bleue pourpre de sa fleur m’a inspiré les notes suivantes : Acidulée, sucrée, bois de chêne liège, violette », indique le chef. La note boisée d’un chêne cher à Steph Cop structure l’architecture des saveurs. 

Le deuxième mouvement est un concentré gourmand axé sur la perception d’un légume de saison, le haricot, avec une note de mousse de lichen. Autant d’éléments de l’écosystème de l’arbre que l’on peut rencontrer au fil des pages du livre de Steph Cop et du photographe Balint Põrneczi qui retrace les pérégrinations en forêt, source onirique d’inspiration, l’atelier en Morvan, la gestuelle créatrice, jusqu’à la recherche de l’âme de l’arbre sculpté figurée dans les 9 formes ARO. Un ouvrage dans lequel les photographies, les écrits, et les traces d’une histoire inscrite dans la matière donnent à entrevoir l’indissociable entre l’artiste, son lieu, et l’œuvre. 

Le troisième mouvement est un travail autour de la courgette en nuances jaunes et vertes, que le chef décrit comme « un chant gustatif azuréen aux notes de bois fumé et de musc de pollen ».

Le quatrième mouvement met à l’honneur le miel de Gourdon, un parfum de thym et un note d’huile d’olivier, comme une sensation de fraîcheur à l’ombre de la Riviera. Il a été composé par la talentueux chef pâtissier discerné par la guide Michelin Julien Ochando. 

Le Martinez au cœur des événements du Festival de Cannes

Chaque année, lors de la soirée précédant l’ouverture du Festival International du Film de Cannes, événement culturel le plus médiatisé au monde, se tient le diner d’accueil du jury à La Palme d’Or. Le chef Sinicropi travaille de longs mois sur la préparation de ce dîner d’exception en réalisant, avec son épouse Catherine, des assiettes en céramique inspirées par la filmographie et l’univers du Président du Jury. Chaque plat du menu est ainsi servi dans une œuvre unique. Le Martinez accueille les plus grandes stars durant cette quinzaine d’effervescence et son histoire est marquée par des moments d’anthologie. Une suite majestueuse d’exception vient d’être inaugurée au dernier étage de l’hôtel, avec un intérieur imaginé par Pierre-Yves Rochon, architecte qui a signé les différentes rénovations du Martinez. Une des plus belles suites d’Europe, avec un panorama époustouflant sur la Croisette depuis la terrasse. Une suite qui s’inscrit dans la légende du cinéma, décorée dans l’esprit de la rencontre entre une actrice et un réalisateur, personnalisée par Isabelle Huppert et Thierry Frémaux, délégué général du Festival. 

Découvrez, durant la quinzaine du Festival de Cannes et pendant cette saison estivale, les œuvres de Steph Cop au Martinez ainsi que les affinités créatrices entre l’artiste et le chef, entre l’art et la gastronomie : « La nature convoque tous nos sens. Nous la contemplons, la touchons, l’écoutons, la respirons, la goûtons. Aussi, nous voulions explorer cette amplitude sensorielle dans une expérience gastronomique artistique inspirée de l’arbre dans son écosystème. Nous espérons transmettre cette plénitude créatrice à nos hôtes en inscrivant notre démarche dans le cycle vital. Notre humilité devant la nature n’est pas une posture, elle est la source de notre recherche artistique. C’est cela que nous souhaitons partager, dans ce lieu iconique qu’est le Martinez ».

Découvrez les œuvres de l’artiste Steph Cop dans nos collections et différentes approches de son travail dans nos précédents Art Papers. 

Conseils / Services

Nous vous accompagnons dans toutes les étapes de votre acquisition : choix de l’œuvre, financement, encadrement.

LIVRAISON

Nous vous livrons dans le monde entier aux meilleurs tarifs grâce à notre réseau de transports spécialisés.

protection / AUTHENTICITÉ

Nous vous garantissons une sécurité optimale dans vos règlements par carte bancaire, virement bancaire et chèque. Toutes nos œuvres originales s’accompagnent d’un certificat d’authenticité de l’artiste.
   
Prendre RDV
Open chat
Besoin d'aide ?
Bonjour, comment pouvons-nous vous aider ?